Watch the Hope Council’s Victim Impact Panel!
Powerful stories from individuals who have been impacted by drinking and driving.
Wisconsin’s OWI Laws
Wisconsin is serious about reducing the personal loss and tragedy brought about by impaired driving. That’s why the law doesn’t stop at just a fine and license suspension. State law requires you to complete an assessment and a Driver Safety Plan in order for you to have full driving privileges in Wisconsin and other states. The Hope Council on Alcohol & Other Drug Abuse, Inc. is required by law to follow certain procedures. Throughout your contact with us, you will be treated in a respectful, courteous, and professional manner. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us.
What is an Assessment?
The assessment appointment consists of an interview with a state of Wisconsin-trained alcohol and other drug abuse assessor. Its purpose is to determine your level of alcohol or other drug use. The appointment normally takes 45 minutes to an hour. You are expected to abstain from any use of alcohol, illegal or non-prescribed drugs for 24 hours preceding your scheduled assessment appointment. In some cases, a second visit or permission to contact a family member or other person will be required. All information is kept strictly confidential. The Department of Transportation and the agency to which you are referred to complete your Driver Safety Plan will receive copies of your assessment and Driver Safety Plan.
Assessments are mandated for every person convicted of operating a vehicle while intoxicated or impaired. Depending on the individual’s situation, an assessment can be completed voluntarily before a conviction (pre-trial) or after conviction. If you complete the assessment before your conviction, completion of the Driver Safety Plan may be required by the Department of Transportation even if you are not convicted. Completing the assessment and the Driver Safety Plan are required for you to continue driving in Wisconsin. If you do not comply, the Hope Council is required by law to send a non-compliance report to the Department of Transportation, and your driving privileges may be withdrawn. State law has set timelines for the requirements, so prompt participation is important.
How to Schedule an Assessment Appointment
There are a couple ways you can set up an appointment for your assessment. First, you can come into our office with your court order and a police report or criminal complaint, fill out paperwork, pay the fee, and an appointment will be set up for you. Second, you can either send us a check or money order with the completed documents below or call us with a credit card for payment, at this time we would collect some quick, general information and then set up an appointment. Either way, you choose to set up an appointment, the payment and forms are due up front. Acceptable payment types are cash, check, money order, MasterCard or Visa. Payment arrangements are also available, but full payment must be received before an appointment is scheduled. All refund requests are subject to a $25 processing fee.
** A copy of all Operating While Impaired/Driving Under the Influence arrest reports (police report or criminal complaint) MUST be submitted to Hope Council on Alcohol & Other Drug Abuse before an assessment can be scheduled. The arrest report is required so that assessors can ensure an accurate assessment. For clients with multiple OWI/DUI offenses, a report will be needed for each offense that has not been assessed.
**Requests may take 7-10 days to be processed and all required time frames will be adhered to**
Please carefully read through, complete, and return these documents via fax to 262-658-8210 or to the Hope Council at 5942 6th Avenue, Kenosha:
- Important Information about the IDP Process
- Impaired Driver Program Fees
- Biomarker Testing for ALL IDP Clients
- Provider Listing
***A copy of a valid, government-issued photo ID must be submitted along with the above documents.
You are required to schedule your assessment within 14 days of your conviction or within 45 days of your order from the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.
Driver Safety Plan
During the assessment interview, a Driver Safety Plan will also be developed and required of you based upon the results of the assessment. Driver Safety Plans result in a referral to either an education program (Traffic Safety School), a treatment program, or, in some cases, both. You will likely also be required to attend an Impact Panel presentation. When you have successfully completed your assessment and driver safety plan, the Hope Council will send a completion report to the Department of Transportation, and your driving privileges may be fully reinstated. If you do not promptly complete the assessment and driver safety plan, the Council is required by law to send a non-compliance report to the Department of Transportation, and your driving privileges may be withdrawn.
State law permits that fees be associated with all aspects of the Intoxicated Driver Program process. The following fees apply in Kenosha County:
- Assessment fee: $280.00
- Assessment fee + Non-compliance fee ($50): $330.00
- An additional $200 will be added to fees if an individual has 3+ lifetime offenses
Costs will vary depending on whether your Driver Safety Plan involves education and/or treatment. You are responsible for all education costs. If your Driver Safety Plan involves treatment, a determination is made as to your costs based on your insurance coverage and your ability to pay. Please be sure to have insurance information with you at the time of the assessment, if applicable.
Additional fees may be charged for not completing requirements in a timely fashion. A non-compliance report will be sent to the Department of Transportation if fees are not paid and your driving privileges may be withdrawn.
A non-compliance fee ($50) will be charged if:
- Your assessment is not scheduled within 14 days of conviction
- You do not pay for your assessment
- You do not consent to collateral contacts (i.e., a spouse, parents, significant other or place of employment)
- You fail to sign releases of information
- You do not satisfactorily complete your Driver Safety Plan and/or fail to consent to the recommendations of the plan
Rescheduling and Cancellation Policy:
There is no fee for cancellations made three (3) or more business days in advance of the appointment.
- There is a $25 fee for cancellations made two (2) business days in advance of the appointment.
- There is a $50 fee for cancellations made one (1) business day in advance of the appointment.
- There is a $100 no-show fee for all appointment no-shows and cancellations the day of the appointment or cancellations made the day before the appointment but after the agency has closed.
- An appointment is considered cancelled if you are more than 15 minutes late or if you are present but will not be seen due to the determination made by Hope Council staff.
- All refund requests are subject to a $25 processing fee.
All fees must be paid in full before an appointment can be rescheduled. These fees do not include Driver Safety Plan costs or re-instatement fees with the Department of Motor Vehicles and are subject to change without notice.
Policy on Assessment Appointments
It is the policy of the Hope Council to refuse assessment services to those appearing for their appointments under the influence of any mood-altering substance not used as prescribed. Should the assessor suspect that you are under the influence of ANY mood-altering substance, your appointment will be considered cancelled, and you will be required to reschedule.* Your full attention is needed during the assessment, and ALL our clients deserve privacy. Therefore, NO ONE else, including children or infants, is allowed to wait in the lobby or be present during your assessment. Failure to adhere to this rule will require you to reschedule.*
*See RESCHEDULING AND CANCELLATION POLICY listed above.
Payment plans are available. Please contact our office for more information.
Help is available if you have an alcohol or other drug problem. We encourage you not to put off scheduling your assessment.
Responsibility for completing Wisconsin’s OWI law requirements is entirely yours!